Channel your inner womble at Christmas

Phiippa Birch shares her ideas for home-made Christmas decorations.

IMG_20141215_211151

It is that time of year again, at least it is for me. Ignoring the bombardment of festive adverts and overstuffed seasonal aisles since October, December means it is officially the countdown to Christmas.

Do not despair if your house is looking bare.

Myself and my other half have recently purchased our first home together and we don’t have enough furniture to fill it let alone ornaments to drape all over it and since we will be at my parental home this Christmas we felt a tree would be wasteful (I prefer natural over artificial – if you can’t decide here is a useful article to read).

I resulted to a forage in the garden for inspiration. Luckily, we have a bit of a log pile situation following a garden tidy on a arrival to our new abode so I rescued a branch from the heap to beautify.

Avoiding a mad rush to the shops for your run-of-the-mill bauble set to decorate the branch I decided to pander to my inner Womble and turn some waste into wonderment following the tutorial below…

FLUFFY SNOWBALLS

What you will need:

· SCISSORS (nice and sharp)

· WHITE YARN; unfortunately 100% wool yarn will not do for this project as it lacks the ‘fluffiness’ and has too much rigidity (believe me I am always more in favour of the natural but I tried and failed). See if you can find some synthetic yarn offcuts at home or look for leftovers on ebay like I did.

· FORK; yes a fork, simple as that.

Now watch this tutorial…once you do it a couple of times you will be churning them out.

Another tutorial which I frequently use during the Christmas period is this one below to create origami stars. These are brilliant and completely recyclable as no glue is involved. I use them as decoration and as present toppers.

PAPER STARS

What you will need:

· PAPER; I actually think newspaper looks great, otherwise I use single sided scrap paper from work.

· SCISSORS

· RULER

Now watch this tutorial…similarly to the first project it becomes muscle memory after a few stars.

Origami stars

Origami star with sustainable wrapping: newspaper and ribbon of an old vhs tape which is currently not recyclable – you will need to have an open minded family!

If you are interested in these sort of crafts or have your own that you would like to share please come along to one of our socials, we would love to meet you.

Join our facebook group and meet up group for information on the next event.

